Photos

Photographer's Note

Τhe construction of the theatre probably dates back to the Hellenistic period, but the remains visible today belong to the Roman phase of the monument. Preserved are the concave with seven marble rows of seats, the orchestra, the floor of the stage building, and many elaborate architectural parts.

The clearing of the monument began in 1838 by French specialists. Excavations began in 1989 and revealed the earlier orchestra, the floor of the stage building and many architectural parts.The latter are currently being drawn and studied, so that the monument can be consolidated and restored.

Despite the fact that research is not completed, the theatre is used for several performances.

www.milos-island.info

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2573
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stathis Stathakis (stat) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 32 W: 33 N: 225] (2878)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH