Photos

Photographer's Note

The monastery was founded in 1270 year by Sain Ioannikos from Serres.Near 300 years in the monastery operated a university school where many people graduated as a doktors teachers and priests.The first Patriachafter the fall of Konstantinopole under the turks rule Gennadius Scholarius lived here as a monk and remained here until his death.His grave is situated in the monastery church

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1823
Points: 6
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Angel Iordanov (arhangel) Silver Note Writer [C: 2 W: 0 N: 94] (502)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH