Photographer's Note

Argostoli 2006 June

Argostoli (Modern: Greek: Αργοστόλι, Ancient/Katharevousa: -ον, -on) has been the capital and administrative centre of Kefalonia, Greece, since 1757, following a population shift down from the old capital of Agios Georgios (also known as Kastro) to take advantage of the trading opportunities provided by the sheltered bay upon which Argostoli sits. Argostoli developed in to one of the busiest ports in Greece, leading to prosperity and growth, but between 1866 and 1999 the administrative borders changed little. Following the “Kapodistrias Law” of 1997, communities around the town united to form a larger Municipality of Argostoli, which now includes the settlements of Spilia, Helmata, Kompothekrata, Lassi, Minies and ten former communities: Agona, Davgata, Dilinata, Zola, Thinia, Kourouklata, Nifi, Troyiannata, Faraklata and Farsa. The 2001 census recorded a population of 12,589 in the Argostoli municipality. Its largest towns are Argostóli (pop. 9,037), Dilináta (739), Farakláta (411), and Kardakáta (362).

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1887
Points: 2
  • None
Additional Photos by Eduardo Balogh (Ketaka) Silver Note Writer [C: 2 W: 4 N: 70] (1191)
View More Pictures