Photos

Photographer's Note

The Loggia was an essential public building in every Venetian city, and this institution was not absent even from Venice's colonies. During the Venetian period, Loggia was the official meeting place of sovereigns and nobility where they discussed various topics concerning economic, commercial, and political matters. It was also used as a place where people passed their time, something like a combination of a chamber and a gentlemen's club. The Loggia we see today is the fourth one; others that were built before this were abandoned due to their position, or were made obsolete by time.

The last Loggia was built around 1628 by the ‘General Provisioner' Frangisko Morosini, known also by the homonymous fountain in the centre of the town. It is situated next to Armeria (the armoury where they used to keep guns and ammunition), and is a building of a rectangular type with two floors, with doric type columns on the ground floor and ionic ones on the first floor. At the corners of the building there were square columns. The space between the columns, on the ground floor, had a low parapet, while the middle was open and served as the main entrance leading onto 25th August St, known then by the name "Ruga Maistra".

https://www.heraklion.gr/

NickVu has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 0
Points: 4
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Aleksandar Dekanski (dekanski) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 321 W: 129 N: 1584] (9467)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH