Photos

Photographer's Note

It is the chief-town of the Arrondissement of Coutances. Gaulish tribe, the town took the name of Constantia in 298 during the reign of Roman emperor Constantius Chlorus. The surrounding region, called in Latin the pagus Constantinus subsequently became known as the Cotentin Peninsula.

The town was destroyed by invading Normans in 866, who later established settlements and incorporated the whole peninsula into the Duchy of Normandy in 933. In July 17, 1944, napalm was first used on the city.

Coutances Cathedral is one of the major buildings of Norman architecture and contains a chapel and stained glass dedicated to Saint Marcouf. The bishop of Coutances exercised ecclesiastical jurisdiction over the Channel Islands until the Reformation, despite the secular division of Normandy in 1204. The final rupture occurred definitively in 1569.

Coutances houses a well-known botanical garden and an art museum.

mugush has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1698
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Sabrina Pezzoli (Sekhmet73) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 241 W: 155 N: 286] (4189)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH