Photos

Photographer's Note

Another picture taken from a look-out point behind the bell tower of the monolithic church.

This time the focal point is the King's Tower.

The tower of the King or castle of the King is a dungeon-citadel built in 1237 by order of Henry III, King of England and Duke of Aquitaine. It is the only Romanesque dungeon in Gironde still visible.

It rises on two floors above an underground cavity that allows access and overlooks the medieval city of Saint-Emilion. The building housed the Hôtel de Ville (Town Hall) until 1608.

It is from the top of this tower that the jury of Saint-Émilion proclaims on the third Sunday of June the judgement of the new wine and on the third Sunday of September 'le ban des vendanges' or the signal for starting the grape harvests.

(Source: French Wikipedia)

Photo Information
Viewed: 504
Points: 42
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stephen Nunney (snunney) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 10142 W: 63 N: 28445] (124980)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH