Photos

Photographer's Note

Cette chapelle, située au nord de la ville médiévale, est consacrée à Quenin, évêque de 556 à 578, canonisé en 1205. Elle possède une abside du XIIème siècle exceptionnelle par sa forme triangulaire et sa qualité : pilastres cannelés à chapiteaux corinthiens supportant une architrave, frise à carreaux avec remplois anciens et corniche à l'antique.
La nef et la façade remontées au XVIIème siècle sous l'évêque Joseph Marie de Suarès portent son blason. Une autre plaque ornée du décor religieux (vase eucharistique et pampres de raisin) encastré en façade a servi de modèle aux armoiries de la ville en 1630.
----
This chapel situated to the north of the town was dedicated to Quenin, bishop from 556 to 578 and canonized in 1205. The apse dates from the 12th century. It is remarkable for its unusual triangular shape and fine workmanship: fluted pilasters with Corinthian capitals support an architrave with a frieze of tiles recycled from roman times and a cornice in the style of classical antiquity.
The nave and the façade, restored in the 17th century by bishop Joseph Marie de Suarès bear his coat of arms. The religious symbols of the chalice and the grape vine, visible on the façade, inspired the arms of the town in 1630.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1690
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Arnaud RAT (arnaud) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 25 W: 5 N: 26] (299)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH