Photos

Photographer's Note

Eglise de Saint Lambert des Bois.
En ce dimanche pascal, pourquoi pas une papagolfade que je dédie à mon ami Philippe !
Cette petite église, toute simple a une architecture harmonieuse et de toute beauté. Admirez ce clocher et ses tuiles en bois de même que ce petit porche, le tout datant semble-t-il du Xème siècle !
La commune de Saint-Lambert a été fortement marquée par la présence proche du monastère de Port-Royal-des-Champs, qui fut le haut-lieu du jansénisme du milieu du XVIIe siècle jusqu'à 1709, date de la fermeture du monastère par ordre de Louis XIV.
La vie de Saint-Lambert-des-Bois s’est organisée, dès l’origine, autour de la première chapelle datant du Xème siècle, puis, peu à peu, autour de l’Eglise et du Cimetière qui conserve les restes des Religieuses de Port-Royal.
La commune s’appelait, jusqu’à la fin du XVIIème siècle, GERMAINVILLE. Depuis le IVème siècle, l’église a été dédiée à Saint Blaise, évêque arménien, de renommée internationale. En 1538, elle fut consacrée à Saint Lambert, évêque de Liège, né à Maëstricht au VIIIème siècle, et son nom fut donné au village dès le début du XVIIIème siècle.

besnard, guytoc, papagolf21, Cricri, JCG, amaryllis trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 4780
Points: 40
Discussions
Additional Photos by Jean Luc Fitoussi (Jean-Luc) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1032 W: 155 N: 1418] (5488)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH

Photos

Photographer's Note

Eglise de Saint Lambert des Bois.
In this Easter Sunday, why not a papagolfade which I dedicate to my friend Philippe !
This small church, very simple has a harmonious and beautiful architecture.
Admire this bell-tower and its tiles of wood and this small porch, the dating from the Xème century!
The commune of Saint-Lambert was strongly marked by the presence close to the monastery of Port-Royal-des Champs, which was the high-place of jansénisme of the middle of the XVIIe century until 1709, date of the closing of the monastery by order of Louis XIV.
The Saint-Lambert-des-Bois life was organized, right from the start, around the first vault dating from Xème century, then, little by little, around the Church and of the Cemetery which preserves the remainders of the Nuns of Port-Royal.
The commune was called, until the end of the XVIIème century, GERMAINVILLE. Since IVème century, the church was dedicated to Saint Blaise, bishop Armenian, of international reputation. In 1538, it was devoted to Saint Lambert, bishop of Liege, born in Maëstricht in VIIIème century, and its name was given to the village at the beginning of the XVIIIème century.

Buin, carper, jhm, gracious, asajernigan, axiotea, siolaw, jaywalker has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 4783
Points: 40
Discussions
Additional Photos by Jean Luc Fitoussi (Jean-Luc) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1032 W: 155 N: 1418] (5488)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH