Photos

Photographer's Note

One of the two fountains near the Obelisk in the Place de la Concorde.

The Place was designed by Ange-Jacques Gabriel in 1755 as a moat-skirted octagon between the Champs-Élysées to the west and the Tuileries Gardens to the east. Filled with statues and fountains, the area was named Place Louis XV to honor the then king. The Place was showcasing an equestrian statue of the king, which had been commissioned in 1748 by the city of Paris, sculpted mostly by Edmé Bouchardon, and completed by Jean-Baptiste Pigalle after the death of the former.

(from the Wikipedia entry)

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2274
Points: 2
Discussions
Additional Photos by Curtis Bullock (someguy) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 82 W: 0 N: 82] (757)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH