Photos

Photographer's Note

Palais du Luxembourg.

Between 1615 and 1627 the Palais du Luxembourg was
constructed at the northern end of the Jardin du
Luxembourg. It was built for Marie de Medicis, mother
of Louis XIII. She was of Italian descent, so the
architect, Salomon de Brosse designed the palace in a
Florentine style.
In 1794, during the French
Revolution, the palace served as a prison.
It also served as the headquarters of the Luftwaffe
during the Second World War.
It currently houses the French Senate.

katya11 has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 4184
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Txxx Bxxx (thor68) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 760 W: 151 N: 919] (5586)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH