Photos

Photographer's Note

This building was reconstructed between 1857 and 1868 by architects Joseph-Louis Duc and Honoré Daumet. The exterior includes sculptural work by Jean-Marie Bonnassieux.

It was opened in October 1868 with little fanfare, save from a visit by Baron Haussmann, prefect of the Seine. It was awarded the Grand Prix de l'Empereur as the greatest work of art produced in France in the decade.

Security is maintained by gendarmes.

papagolf21, snunney, cornejo, ChrisJ, jhm, pierrefonds has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 456
Points: 34
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Daniel Draghici (dkmurphys) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 5665 W: 83 N: 11187] (75424)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH