Photos

Photographer's Note

For fifty-eight years, from 1838 to 1896, ships from the South to Paris crossed the Loire at Châtillon-sur-Loire through the Lock of Mantelot.
The boats that arrived by the lateral canal to the Loire then borrowed the old Canal to join the Loire to the lock the Combles a kilometer away.
More than 4,000 boats were crossing the Loire every year Châtillon-sur-Loire. This figure went up to 9,000 during the years of service toueur. Shipwrecks were numerous, almost ten per year. Drowning mariners were common for the men of water generally do not swim. In 1896, the opening of the new channel and the Briare canal bridge ended these perilous crossings Loire.

LARGE VERSION


Copyright Didi MASSOUD may 2015

Photo Information
Viewed: 2007
Points: 52
Discussions
Additional Photos by Didi Massoud (Didi) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 8664 W: 4414 N: 15280] (61569)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH