Photos

Photographer's Note

This little chapel of St. Francis was built in the Neo-classicist style in 1832 right next to the mountain road, which had just been opened in 1831 to connect the Croatian regions Dalmatia and Lika across the mountain of Velebit. The chief engineer on the road was Josip Knežić, a master mountain road builder of the period and the church was designed by Valentino Presani, an Italian architect who was working in Zadar between 1826 and 1838.

lappino has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2434
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Josip Predovan (predovan) Silver Note Writer [C: 1 W: 0 N: 19] (219)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH