Photos

Photographer's Note

The parish church of The Assumption of Virgin Mary and St. Peregrine, the patron saint of the city of Umag o was built after the design of the architect Filippo Dongeti from Piran. The late baroque fašade remained unfinished. On the interior side of the church entrance there is an immured depiction of St. Peregrine from 14th century. The fresco on the church ceiling is attributed to Giuseppe Bernardino Bison from Palmanova. On the main altar there are the statues of St. Peregrine and St. Nicefor.
In the church there are various altarpieces and fragments of a wooden triptych from 15th century. The highlight should be on the statue of the Virgin Mary of the Sorrows attributed to some of Vivarini's followers. The church-organ originates from 1776. The Venetian lion on the bell tower was originally found on the city hall destroyed by fire in 1924. By the way, the 33m bell-tower originates from 1651.

pajaran, ChrisJ has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Nikola Nadas (NickVu) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 11 W: 0 N: 318] (297)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2018-06-22
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2021-06-18 1:39
Viewed: 0
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Nikola Nadas (NickVu) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 11 W: 0 N: 318] (297)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH