Photos

Photographer's Note

This is another picture of guildhouses in Grand Place, Brussels. The houses from left to right are La Chambrette de l'Amman (The Little Chamber of the Amman) from 1709. The Amman was a kind of mayor of the city It is also called the Le Marchand d'Or (The Gold Merchant) most likely since it once was a gold merchant here. The next house is Le Pigeon (The Pigeon), from 1697 that was the Painters' Guildhouse. Now is is housing a lace strore. Then La Chaloupe d'Or (The Golden Sloop), or the Maison des Tailleurs (House of the Tailors). Today a café at the bottom floor has the name La Chaloupe d'Or. On the roof there is a statue of St. Boniface. This house is followed by L'Ange (The Angel), from 1697 in the Italian Flemish Style, Joseph et Anne (Joseph and Anne), from 1700, and Le Cerf (The Stag), from 1710.

bukitgolfb301, PaulVDV, saxo042, jhm, pablominto, dkmurphys has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1322
Points: 24
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by ulf eriksson (UlfE) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2516 W: 81 N: 3653] (14641)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH