Photos

Photographer's Note

St. Paul’s Church was originally part of a vast Dominican cloister. It was consecrated in 1571 as a replacement for a previous house of worship. But disaster struck here as well and on several occasions. After the fire of 1679, a new baroque tower was built. The paintings were plundered in the French period but returned in 1815. Great damage was also done during the Belgian Revolution (1830) and by a fire in 1968. On that occasion, those living round about risked their lives to save the works of art from the fire.

danos, snunney has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1510
Points: 6
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by john vantighem (john1) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 385 W: 0 N: 531] (4028)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH