Photographer's Note

Vienna (/viːˈɛnə/; German:  Wien  [viːn], Austro-Bavarian: Wean) is the capital and largest city ofAustria, and one of the nine states of Austria. Vienna is Austria's primary city, with a population of about 1.757 million[5] (2.4 million within the metropolitan area,[4] more than 20% of Austria's population), as well as its cultural, economic, and political centre. It is the 7th-largest city by population within city limits in the European Union. Until the beginning of the 20th century it was the largest German-speakingcity in the world, and before the splitting of theAustro-Hungarian Empire in World War I the city had 2 million inhabitants.[6] Today it is the second only to Berlin in German speakers.[7][8] Vienna is host to many major international organizations, including the United Nations and OPEC. The city lies in the east of Austria and is close to the borders of theCzech Republic, Slovakia, and Hungary. These regions work together in a European Centropeborder region. Along with nearby Bratislava, Vienna forms a metropolitan region with 3 million inhabitants. In 2001, the city centre was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site.[9]

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: nil dgn (mediterraneann) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 37 W: 4 N: 32] (169)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2013-10-30
  • Categories: Architecture
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2013-10-30 15:24
Viewed: 962
Points: 0
  • None
Additional Photos by nil dgn (mediterraneann) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 37 W: 4 N: 32] (169)
View More Pictures