Photos

Photographer's Note

The Door of San Diego is located in the environment of the Viceroy Palace of Don Diego Colon, where it takes its name. It was built in the 16th century by master Rodrigo de Liendo, and was one of the walled city accesses. It has the characteristic of having the central shaft with an angular deflection opposite the palace, to protect it in the event of an attack from outside.
On the outer side has coats of arms of the main families of the villa, carved in the stone.

pajaran, ikeharel, snunney, jhm has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2036
Points: 16
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Pedro Montes (Periko) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 771 W: 132 N: 1276] (8533)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH