Photos

Photographer's Note

In October, 1999, Parliament House was officially opened. It occupies 2.2 hectares of land with a built-up area or 19,765 square meters. Designed by architects from the former Public Works Department, it features a grey facade with sturdy columns. With this design, the House blends in with the surrounding buildings in the Civic District.

Apart from its dignified and stately appearance, the building is equipped to meet the growing needs parliamentary business and the demands of information technology.
The highlight of the House is its ceremonial entrance hall. The Parliament Crest is mounted on a curved granite wall and flanked by two sweeping grand staircases which leads to the Chamber.

The current Parliament Secretariat Office block was first built as a Court House Annexe which opened in 1839. It was later enlarged in the 1880s to house the Government Printing Office. Then, the Public Works Department occupied the building from the late 1960s until 1971. Subsequently, the building housed the Attorney-General's Chambers till 1991.

The courtyard, formerly Hallpike Street, is where the old meets the new. The Public Block links the restored Secretariat Office to the Front Block. The Chamber Block with its distinctive colonial design, offers a panoramic view of the Singapore River. The surrounding grounds of the House are beautifully landscaped. The block overlooks a 2700 square-meter garden where parliamentary reception are held.

pajaran, ikeharel has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 179
Points: 4
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Zbigniew Kalinowski (fotka) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 539 W: 9 N: 1384] (6359)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH