Photos

Photographer's Note

Monastery of the Resurrection (Voskresensky) is one of the most ancient ones in Uglich. It is well-known since the late XIV century (since XV century according to other information) First wooden buildings were placed on the bank of the Volga river near Troitsky small river. In the middle of the XVII century the monastery was transferred far away from the Volga river, and in 1674 - 1677 a new immense ensemble was created on this place. New stone buildings were erected according to the Rostov Metropolitan Iona Sisoevich order. The Metropolitan was a monk of this monastery previously. In 1764 the monastery was closed, monastic cells and walls were pulled down. Certain part of buildings was given to merchants for their goods. Cathedral of the Resurrection was used as ordinary parish church.

The ensemble composition is interesting and unusual. Cathedral, belfry, refectory and church of the Virgin of Smolensk are placed close to each other. They are connected by means of passages and form the entire balanced composition.

Bianconeri78, yogi32 has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2146
Points: 7
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Natalia Kovaleva (azuri) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 156 W: 2 N: 147] (1598)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH