Photos

Photographer's Note

Here we have another reminder of Kuching's colonial past, the old courthouse, now dwarfed by modern surrounding buildings.

After Charles Brooke was proclaimed as the Rajah of Sarawak in 1868, he looked for a better venue for the administrative centre of the government of Sarawak. The construction of the courthouse building started in 1868 and completed in 1874. It was then officiated by William Henry Rodway.

In 1883, the clock tower was added to the building at the entrance area. In 1924, the memorial for Charles Brooke was constructed at the building entrance square. The building was used as the administrative centre for the government of Sarawak until 1973. In 2003, the building was converted into the Sarawak Tourism Complex and is equipped with various facilities including a restaurant.

The building consists of 4 blocks. It is covered with an iron and wood roof.

(Source: Wikipedia)

Photo Information
Viewed: 345
Points: 34
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stephen Nunney (snunney) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 10148 W: 63 N: 28464] (125060)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH