Photos

Photographer's Note

Nagoya Castle is a historical place. This was designed in the days of Sumarai warriors. The original was virtually completely destroyed and then rebuilt in the 1950s. The good thing about the modern rebuild is there are now elevators and proper lighting etc in this place of huge significance. Taken on a cloudy day the sky was gray rather than blue. If any TE member can do a WS to create a blue sky it would be welcomed.
Scanned from old-style photo so not 100%.

Alternate Name: Kinshachi-jo Founder Tokugawa Ieyasu Year 1612 Reconstructed 1959 (concrete) Type Flatland Structure 5 levels, 7 stories Artifacts 3 yagura and 2 gates.
Had it not been destroyed by the bombing of World War 2, Nagoya Castle may have been more splendid than Himeji Castle with its original donjon and lord's palace.
They are currently rasining funds to rebuild the palace. In 1610 Tokugawa Ieyasu ordered the construction of Nagoya-jo to solidify the Tokugawa authority in Owari (Nagoya and vicinity).

The castle was completed in 1612 and Tokugawa's ninth son Yoshinao entered the castle in 1616 from which he governed over Owari.

Nagoya-jo is famous for the 2 golden shachihoko that adorn the top of its donjon. That is why it is also known as "Kinshachi-jo." Kin means "gold" and shachi refers to the killer whale type mythical creatures that sit atop the donjon and other castle structures.

http://www.jcastle.info/castle/nagoya.html

pierrefonds, ChrisJ, riclopes, pablominto has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2733
Points: 14
Discussions
Additional Photos by Murray Lines (MLINES) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2255 W: 203 N: 2719] (12516)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH