Photos

Photographer's Note

Fort Rotterdam has been established on the same spot as Fort Ujung Pandang, a fort build by the kings of Gowa. The building of fort Ujung Pandang started under the reign of the 9th king of Gowa, Tumaparisi Kallona and finished by his successor Tunipallangga Ulaweng in 1545. In the second half of the 17th century the VOC and the kingdom of Gowa were at war. On November 24, 1666 Admiral Cornelis Speelman attacked the fleet of Gowa with 21 ships, with 600 VOC soldiers on board. Speelman had the help of the Buginese prince Arung Pallaka who’s kingdom was occupied by Gowa. Arung Pallaka came with Bugis soldiers and there was also help from Ambonese soldiers under the command of Captain Jonker. The leader of the Gowa troops, Sultan Hasanuddin decided to retire as the Dutch force was too superior for his army. On November 10, 1667 the peace treaty of Bongaya between the VOC and the Kingdom of Gowa was signed. According to this treaty all the forts in Gowa had to be demolished except fort Ujung Pandang, which became the headquarters of the VOC in Makassar. The fort was renamed “Fort Rotterdam “after the place of birth of Cornelis Speelman. The fort was completely rebuilt in 1677. In 1942 the Japanese took over the fort and added a few buildings.

JPlumb, edytungkal, shevchenko has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2010
Points: 12
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by utama putranto (utamaputranto) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Silver Note Writer [C: 50 W: 34 N: 24] (186)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH