Photos

Photographer's Note

Built in 1883 on the site of Zanzibar Queen Fatuma's residence. This was the first building in Zanzibar to have electric lights and the first in East Africa to have an elevator. It was damaged in 1896 during the Shortest War in History (only lasting 40 minutes). It was later used by the British as their local offices until the revolution in 1964. It contains some of Pres. Karume's old cars, but not much has been done with it since 1977. Recent attempts have been made to have it renovated, and a craft market is housed on the veranda during the day.

Eagle, tureis has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 5254
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Gerhard Theron (GerhardT) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 13 W: 0 N: 25] (76)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH