Photographer's Note

The Drakensberg Mountains form a 300-km border between the landlocked mountain kingdom of Lesotho and South Africa. The Mountains cover an area of about 40,000 km2 and the area ranges from 1800 m to 3482 m. The area includes montane, sub-alpine, and alpine vegetational belts. The alpine area is the only true alpine region in southern Africa. The Drakensbergs are one of Southern Africa's eight 'hot-spots' of botanical diversity in terms of species richness and endemism. They are thus an area of particular interest to botanists interested in biodiversity and the causes of richness and endemism.

The Drakensberg Mountains are also known as the Barrier of Spears or 'a row of spears point upwards'. The Zulu name (Quathlamba or uKhahlamba) refers to the jagged spires of the Drakensbergs.

The Drakensberg Mountains are the highest part of the 'Great Escarpment' in southern Africa rising to over 3000 m.

pajaran has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2124
Points: 0
  • None
Additional Photos by gee hoo (geehoo) Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 6 W: 17 N: 207] (804)
View More Pictures