Photos

Photographer's Note

In 1830, the State of New Jersey chartered the Delaware and Raritan Canal Company to build and operate a canal to connect the Raritan and Delaware Rivers. The canal extended from Bordentown on the Delaware River to New Brunswick on the Raritan River. A feeder canal was built north of Lamberville to supply water to the Delaware and Raritan Canal. The feeder canal, pictured here, flows all the way to Trenton where it joins up with the Delaware and Raritan Canal.

In 1852, the feeder canal was widened and deepened and locks were built. It was used to transport Pennsylvania coal to New York City to fuel the industrial furnaces and heat the houses of the growing city. Coal barges traveling down Pennsylvania's Delaware Canal were locked into the Delaware River at New Hope. The barges crossed the river and were attached to a cable and locked into the canal south of the Lambertville Lock. The coal traveled down the canal to New Brunswick and on to New York City.

The coal barges are now gone but the towpath and warehouses still line the old feeder canal. The two buildings on the left are part of a complex called "The Porkyard". There you will find a wine bar, a fine restaurant, an art gallery, and shops!

MOULIGVC, carper, rakeshgupta, nwoehnl, digi-mom, jrj, john_c has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1852
Points: 22
Discussions
Additional Photos by Linda Richters (richtersl) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 992 W: 583 N: 849] (3546)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH