Photos

Photographer's Note

Cemaes Bay was originally known as Cemais which means ‘bend’ and probably refers to the shape of the bay.

Originally an ancient fishing village - herring was the main catch. However, during the 18th and 19th centuries, Cemaes Bay developed into a busy port and limestone, marble, bricks, corn, lime and ochre were exported in ships from here. In the 1830’s shipbuilding provided the main source of employment for the local people who built 100 to 400 ton vessels in the shelter of the harbour.

The name of the river which flows into the sea at Cemaes is the River Wygyr. It starts its journey to the sea at the foot of Parys Mountain, Amlwch. The name Wygyr means where two rivers meet.

For more info copy and paste the following link into your browser:

http://www.anglesey-hidden-gem.com/Cemaes-Bay.html

Enjoy.

timecapturer, ourania, fritzi007 has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1299
Points: 20
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Michael Wright (mjw364) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 517 W: 6 N: 1365] (7004)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH