Photos

Photographer's Note

The main place attracts attention of tourists in New Wi¶nicz is undoubtedly Kmita and Lubomirski castle, one of the most valuable works in Poland early baroque architecture.

The oldest part of the castle was built in the fourteenth century by the Kmita family. In the sixteenth century, the most famous of the family of Kmita, Peter V, Marshal of the Crown in the court of Sigismund the Old, gave him the qualities of the Renaissance style. Another reconstruction of the castle was in the years 1615-1621 at the time of Stanislaw Lubomirski. Around 1700 there was a further development. Castle abandoned after a fire in 1831 for comprehensive restaurant had to wait until 1949.
The body of the castle, with fragments of the early Renaissance, is built on a square plan, with an inner courtyard and crowned with four towers at the corners. From the north - east side is a chapel in 1621. On the second floor of the castle, the knights' hall, there is a viewing gallery.

The interior includes baroque portals, window border, stucco decorations, paintings. The palace is surrounded by bastion fortifications, from the early seventeenth century, the curtain falling on the eastern gate early Baroque.

This is a scan of the negative.

Sonata11, jhm, danos has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 583
Points: 16
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Jozef Zbigniew Napora (raszid62) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1805 W: 41 N: 3315] (18583)
  • Primorsko-Goranska photo
    #
  • Primorsko-Goranska photo
    #
  • Primorsko-Goranska photo
    #
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH