Photos

Photographer's Note

The "Nubble" is a small, rocky island a short distance off the eastern point of Cape Neddick, about two miles north of the entrance to the York River and York Harbor.

Congress appropriated $15,000 for the building of a lighthouse on the Nubble in 1876. The 41-foot cast-iron tower, lined with brick, was first illuminated on July 1, 1879. At first, the lighthouse was painted reddish-brown, showing a fixed red light through a fourth order Fresnel lens.

The lighthouse still exhibits a red light, but the tower has been painted white since 1902.

The distinctive red oil house was built in 1902, and the walkway connecting the lighthouse to the keeper's house was added in 1911.

Tazzie1 has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1167
Points: 5
Discussions
Additional Photos by Diane Vaillancourt (divail) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 607 W: 24 N: 935] (8288)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH