Photos

Photographer's Note

At the end of the sixteenth century, during the foundation of the town, was erected a chapel dedicated to St. Roque, on the current Fort Hill, which then was the village. However, in 1646, Maria Jacome de Mello donated a ​​land, situated between the rivers Pereque Açu and Patitiba for the construction of the new town. However she demanded that to be built a chapel dedicated to Our Lady of Remedios and to not molest the Guaianás indians who lived there.

Thus, from stone and lime, came the first chapel, which was demolished in 1668, and in its place built a larger church, a work executed by Raphael de Souza, which only ended in 1712.

In 1787, the church was small for the population, about 2,700 people, so began the construction of the present temple in a place near the old chapel. But only in September 7 of 1873, the church was given to public. When a procession moved the saint images from Church of Santa Rita to the new Mother Churh.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 727
Points: 8
Discussions
Additional Photos by Andre Bonavita (bona) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1268 W: 116 N: 2468] (12229)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH