Photos

Photographer's Note

This monument belonged to the Royal Academy of Fine Arts which was located in the Rio de Janeiro city Centre. The Royal Academy was opened in 1821 and demolished in 1937, preserving only the facade of the central body, which, after disassembled, was carefully reconstructed in the Botanical Garden in 1940.

The Gate was designed by French architect Grandjean de Montigny, who in 1816 had come to Brazil following the French Artistic Mission.

danos, fabbs99, Valensiaa, adores, ikeharel has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 747
Points: 12
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Andre Bonavita (bona) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1267 W: 116 N: 2462] (12195)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH