Photos

Photographer's Note

In the mid-seventeenth century, when the village of Paraty was beginning to form, the social elite was formed by farmers owners of sugar mills. Farms was therefore not the best houses in the village. The first buildings of the village were mostly made ​​with wooden walls and thatched roofs. Rare were the constructions made ​​in wattle and daub and clay tiles, and even these few are left standing.

The buildings of the eighteenth century found today in the historic buildings are simple, mostly single-storey, made ​​of wattle and daub and with little concern for aesthetics. The lintels (piece of stone or wood that stands horizontally on the door jamb) are straight lines.

The houses, built from the second half of the eighteenth century were often made ​​on existing single-storey houses, which is why it is perceived in some, mixtures of styles, such as doors with straight lintels on the ground floor and windows with curves lintels on the top floor.

With the preparation of the Registration of Postures Hall of Paraty Villa in 1829, the buildings now have a greater standardization and aesthetic concern. The eaves of the houses, for example, defined the social status of the owner: the dog type were of poor people, the capstone type were of the richest, borders-seveiras types were more used in military and religious buildings.

cornejo has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 755
Points: 10
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Andre Bonavita (bona) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1270 W: 116 N: 2479] (12297)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH