Photos

Photographer's Note

The architectural complex of the Tiradentes Square started to be formed around 1750. The building in the background was the City Council and Prison, today turned into the Conspiracy Museum.

This square was known, in the 18th century, as Santa Quitéria Hill. It was named Independence Square after 1792, when the head of Tiradentes, the martyr of Minas Conspiracy, was exhibited in the place where his statue was built later on, in 1894, when it was named Tiradentes Square.

Photo Information
Viewed: 5331
Points: 138
Discussions
Additional Photos by Alexandre Baptista (gervaso) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1853 W: 38 N: 2412] (9365)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH