Photos

Photographer's Note

The Basilica Lord Good Jesus of Matosinhos was erected in 1757 by the faith of the Portuguese Feliciano Mendes. With the 12 prophets of the churchyard and the six chapels of the Stations of the Cross, located across the whole of the Basilica of Our Lord Jesus brings the splendor of the art of Antonio Francisco Lisboa, The Aleijadinho.
In the year 1790, finally completed the architectural part of the Sanctuary of Good Jesus of Matosinhos, its churchyard would gain from 1796, the Stations of the Cross and the Prophets, Aleijadinho works that make up the most splendid set of baroque art of the world

Joel, the second of the minor prophets of the biblical canon, takes its place in the churchyard to the right of Hosea in the corner against the parapet of entry and the inner wall side. The Prophet, one of the earliest known writings have been preserved, lived in the eighth century B.C. His name means "Yahweh is God" and his book of prophecies focus is on the end of times and Doomsday, and thus has an essentially apocalyptic.


Source: www.congonhas.com.br

All Rights Reserved: Lucas Vieira Copyright. Use in any form is forbiden without the written permission of the photographer.

Direitos Autorais Reservados: A presente fotografia é obra intelectual protegida pela lei 9610/98 sendo proibida a reprodução por qualquer meio sem a prévia autorização por escrito do autor. Favor contatar Lucas Vieira.

Photo Information
Viewed: 2534
Points: 86
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Lucas Vieira (lucasgalodoido) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 5324 W: 203 N: 6252] (21051)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH