Photos

Photographer's Note

Here another photo inside the Our Lady of Lujan Basilica showing the main altar.

The Basilica was built between May 15, 1887 and 1935. It was built by project of the engineers Alfonso Flamand and Romulo Ayerza and by architects Ulrich Courtois, Ernesto Moreau, Fleury Tronqoy, Sombrum and Trouve y Laspe. The foundation stone was placed where is the main altar, at a depth of 4 meters.

In 1904 the third part of the works were completed. Where were completed the main altar, the abbey, the chapels and the dressing room. at that time 14 Carrara marble statues were placed to the main altar. You can see the statues in the photos, 10 are placed in the bottom and 4 in the at the height of the chandeliers

In 1905 the main altar was finished by placing the chandeliers and the gold enamel cross.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 355
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Andre Bonavita (bona) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1272 W: 116 N: 2483] (12315)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH