Photos

Photographer's Note

The Old Post Office was opened in 1914 to replace the original 1880's building. It is sited on the southwest corner of Arawa and Fenton Streets and incorporates a memorial town clock erected in honour of Premier Richard Seddon who died in 1906.

The Old Post Office was built by Snell Brothers of Hamilton and consisted of two floors and a tower with a rough cast cement plaster exterior with decorative timbering. In 1971 the Post Office was forced to move into a larger purpose designed building.

The local Council purchased the building in 1990 and after some restoration it was opened as The Tourism Information Centre in mid 1993.

snunney, dta, macondo, asajernigan, Fante, vasilpro, jhm has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 4209
Points: 38
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Chris Chafer (sandpiper) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 778 W: 89 N: 1202] (6788)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH