Photos

Photographer's Note

First Congregational Church of Newfane, Vermont
Prior to 1838, the Congregationalists shared a meeting house with other Protestant sects (religious groups that form to protest elements of their parent religion (generally a denomination). There were 52 pews. The pews were sold at auction. Each sect “had the pulpit” for the number of Sundays equal to the number of pews which they had subscribed. The Congregationalists had 20 Sundays, the Universalists 19 and the Methodists 13.
In 1838, the Congregationalists decided to construct their own meeting house in order to secure its use to the members of the Society and to control the pulpit to the Congregationalist Church. Nine sheds for parishioners’ horses were built behind the church. The building seated 300 people and was built at a cost of $4000 plus many donated materials. It was dedicated on Sunday, October 2, 1839.
There have been many remodels and improvements through the years. Notable among these were the replacement of wood shingles with slate in 1897; the installation of a furnace in 1904, in place of wood burning stoves; and installation of electric lighting in 1914 to replace kerosene lamps on wall brackets and a large central, ceiling hung chandelier carrying a cluster of oil lamps.
Common among New England village churches, this church occupies a prime position within Newfane, adjacent to the Windham County Court House on the town commons.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1429
Points: 6
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Tim Kathka (tkfun45) Silver Note Writer [C: 7 W: 0 N: 16] (113)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH