Photos

Photographer's Note

The majesty and geological beauty of the Arches area began to expand to the public in 1923, when Hungarian born prospector living nearby - Alexander Ringhofer wrote the Denver and Rio Grande Western Railroad about its unique landscape. Frank A. Wadleigh the Railroad's passenger traffic manager accompanied by photographer George L. Beam photographed the numerous arches, and suggested to National Park Service director Stephen T. Mather to make the area a National Monument. A succession of government investigators led to its National Monument approval in 1929 under President Herbert Hoover. It was not until 1969 that it was changed from National Monument to National Park under President Richard Nixon.

This image is of the Windows section including the Turret Arch on the right. It is rewarding to saunter from the parking area around the back side of the two giant Windows arches to Turret Arch and other photogenic fins and monoliths.

jhm, ikeharel has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 299
Points: 14
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ray Anderson (photoray) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 964 W: 1 N: 2379] (9735)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH