Photos

Photographer's Note

In the early 1900s when cattle rustlers were hiding cattle in the box canyon alongside Kitchen Mesa, they discouraged people from looking there by spreading the rumor that the land was haunted by Evil Spirits. The rustlers gave it the name "Rancho de los Brujos" meaning Ranch of the Witches. Which evolved into "Ghost Ranch". The entry to Ghost Ranch was marked by a cattle skull. In 1936 Arthur Pack bought the ranch and ceased the rustling business and started a visitor one. When famous painter Georgia O' Keefe came looking for the ranch, she used the skull as inspiration for a painting and gave it to Mr. Pack. He used her painting as his logo and it is still popular today.

--- reference: http//ghostranch.org

Noel_Byrne, ikeharel, Romano46, Royaldevon, nikkitta has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 371
Points: 12
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ray Anderson (photoray) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1009 W: 1 N: 2579] (10557)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH