Photos

Photographer's Note

Placerville Main Street had a disastrous fire in 1856 which leveled most of 'Hangtown' (the original name of the town). The El Dorado Hotel made of wood was originally at this site, it was replaced in 1860 by W.M. Donohue & R.H. Black's brick 'Confidence Building' which was Hangtown's Fire Department. Later the Fire Department moved to a larger building. And the City's government moved in and it has been City Hall since 1902.

The 1920s jalopy in front is during the May Car Show.

COSTANTINO, macjake, ikeharel, nikkitta, SnapRJW, jhm has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 217
Points: 13
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ray Anderson (photoray) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 966 W: 1 N: 2387] (9767)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH