Photos

Photographer's Note

Travelling north on Highway 395, past Lee Vining is another spur road to the west going up Lundy Canyon.
The road dead ends at 10 miles, where hiking trails continue into the protected Ansel Adams Wilderness.
In this view is Lundy Creek and a water fall cascading into it. Another water fall is barely visible flowing down Dunderberg Peak. Also, a beaver house is visible at the right water's edge, the pile of wood.

Lundy Canyon's forests were an important source of timber for the boom mining town of Bodie about 20 miles north east. Bodie being in a desert environment needed wood to build a town for the rapidly expanding mining population. William O. Lundy started a sawmill in 1878 or earlier. In 1879 gold was discovered and continually mined until 1898. Remnants of the mining period may be discovered in this area.

Miguel82, ikeharel, danos, Kielia has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 313
Points: 10
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ray Anderson (photoray) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 970 W: 1 N: 2406] (9849)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH