Photos

Photographer's Note

This is the St. Augustine City hall. Sharing this historic structure is the Lightner Museum.

The building was originally built as the Alcazar Hotel by Henry Flagler in 1888, as a companion to the majestic Ponce de Leon Hotel across the street. It closed as a Hotel in 1932 and was vacant until 1947. At that time O. C. Lightner bought the building to house his collection of victorian art and deeded it to the city. In 1969 a massive renovation was started and in 1973, it was dedicated as City Hall, with the museum opening in 1974.

venki, singuanti, digi-mom has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1616
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ned Messerschmidt (nmess) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 558 W: 78 N: 414] (2301)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH