Photos

Photographer's Note

Pictured here is St Macuilin's Church and part of its cemetery in the town of Lusk, North County Dublin.

St Macuilin founded a church here in the year 450, and this site gave birth to the town of Lusk. Stories from the area suggest that the saint lived in a cave, or had been buried in a cave, and that the name Lusk comes from the old Irish word Lusca, which means cave. The town is said to be the birthplace of the wife of Irish legend Cu Chulainn, her name being Emer. Even today, the name Emer remains popular in the town.

Lusk was burned to the ground numerous times in the 8th and 9th centuries, destroyed by marauding vikings on raids. These vikings would later found Irelands capital city; Dublin, 14 miles away.

This church that we see today is an important archeological site, with layers of architecture from different periods entwined. The traditional round tower dates from the 8th century, and is 27 meters high with a conical roof. When it was built, the doorway was 15 feet above the ground, today it is only 3 feet above ground.

The square tower into which the round tower is incorporated dates to the 15th century. The other three corners of the square tower are all matching. This square tower contains the medieval tombs of James Birmingham, as well as the double effigy tomb of Christopher and Marion Barnewall.

The church was built in 1847 in early English gothic style. It was consecrated in 1847, and its last ever service was in 1959. Today it is a local heritage centre and a very imposing structure in the town visible for miles from any approach road through the area.

Thanks for looking!

Photo Information
Viewed: 938
Points: 52
Discussions
Additional Photos by Noel Byrne (Noel_Byrne) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2641 W: 12 N: 6312] (22106)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH