Photos

Photographer's Note

Kampa Island is surrounded by the Vltava river on one side and the Devilís Stream on the other. Devilís Stream was created in the 12th century as a millrace making Kampa an artificial island.

The use of the Devilís Stream as a millrace suggests that first buildings appearing in the area were mills. Today, there are three of them and two have still their mill-wheels. The most famous one is the Grand Priorís Mill with its totally restored wheel measuring eight metres.

During the Middle Ages, the Kampa Island was one large garden. The first houses were built in the 16th century. The beautiful houses at Na Kampe Namesti were built in the 17th century. The very first buildings to appear here were the homes of bricklayers, carpenters and stonemasons so that they could comfortably keep an eye on Charles Bridge and maintain it in a perfect state. The square surrounded by these houses is the place where pottery used to be sold regularly. Traditional pottery markets took place here for centuries.

Kampa Park now sits at the southern end of the island. It was created during the 1940s from the gardens of several palaces.

ikeharel, dkmurphys has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1705
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by MB White (MBWhite) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 27 W: 0 N: 41] (242)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH