Photos

Photographer's Note

Long Papagolfade:
The Orbieu river separates the abbey from the village.
A manuscript of the VIIIth century reports the foundation of the abbey of Sainte Marie d' Orbieu.
Charlemagne granted to it a charter of protection in the year 778
The political power of the abbey appears primarily during the crusade against the Albigensians.
In 1796, the abbey is sold and the 14 remaining monks are driven out. The buildings which surrounded the cloister were destroyed, except for the dormitory and the abbey home.

In front of the abbey we see the bell-tower of 40 meters builds in 1537.

Photo Information
Viewed: 4752
Points: 108
Discussions
Additional Photos by Didi Massoud (Didi) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 8606 W: 4442 N: 15087] (60612)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH