Photos

Photographer's Note

In 1904, Brother André (Alfred Bessette) began the construction of a small chapel on the side of the mountain near Notre Dame College. Soon, it became much too small. Even though it was enlarged, in 1917, a church was built, called the crypt, with a seating capacity of 1,000. In 1924, the construction of the basilica was inaugurated; it was finally completed in 1967. The Oratory's dome is the second-largest of its kind in the world after Saint Peter's Basilica in Rome, and the church is the largest in Canada.

The basilica is dedicated to Joseph of Nazareth, to whom Brother André credited all his supposed miracles. These were mostly related to some kind of healing power, and many pilgrims (handicapped, blind, ill, etc...) poured into his Basilica, including numerous Protestants. On display in the basilica is a wall covered with thousands of crutches from those he supposedly healed. Pope John Paul II recognized the authenticity of the miracles and beatified Brother André in 1982.

isabela_sor, cobraphil8, berek has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 13352
Points: 8
Discussions
Additional Photos by Vlad Ghiea (vlad_ghiea) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 56 W: 56 N: 201] (1086)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH