Photos

Photographer's Note

The old building on the picture was the Don Jail, designed by architect William Thomas in a distinctive Italianate style, opened in 1864. It is among the oldest buildings in Toronto, and is widely considered to be one of the most important surviving pre-Confederation structures in the region. In 1977 the prison was moved into a new facility, and the former jail building eventually become the administration building of the new modern hospital built beside it. The park in front was established last year, named in honour of William Peyton Hubbard (1842-1935), he was elected as an alderman in 1894 - becoming Toronto's first elected black politician.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 474
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Barnabas Bozoki (bbarna) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 39 W: 5 N: 386] (1237)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH