Photos

Photographer's Note

The cottage was actually a farmhouse. The structure of the original 1460s house can be clearly seen whilst touring the inside of the house. The oak timbers supporting the roof and walls which are made of wattle and daub (woven hazel covered in a mixture of mud, dung and chopped straw. The house remained in the Hathaway family for several generations. The male line became extinct in 1746. Mary Baker a distant descendant was sill living there in 1892, she then became the custodian of the house for the Shakepeare Trust.

ikeharel, Kofman, worldcitizen, JRushen, jhm, kato has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 389
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Colin Brenchley (colinbrenchley) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 771 W: 75 N: 532] (6431)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH