Photos

Photographer's Note

Many people on TE will recognise this place. This is the delightful little village of Cropredy in Oxfordshire through which runs the Oxford Canal and this is Lock 25. And right beside it is the Lock Keeper's Cottage.

The Oxford Canal is a 78-mile-long (126 km) narrow canal in central England linking Oxford with Coventry via Banbury and Rugby. It was constructed in several stages over a period of more than twenty years, finally opening on 1st January, 1790.

The first European canal locks were designed in The Netherlands where there was a requirement to move boats between the drainage dykes and rivers: however these were more about controlling the water levels. Leonardo da Vinci actually designed a system which could be used to move boats up and down gradients - this featured mitred lock gates which were angled upstream against the current and thus created a water tight seal due to the water pressure. This remains the basic design for lockgates still today. In fact, you can just see the tops of the two mitred lock gates nearest to the camera: the other, farther, lock gate is just a single one.

This was taken last August during a wonderful weekend in Cropredy courtesy of Richard.

Photo Information
Viewed: 836
Points: 32
Discussions
Additional Photos by John Cannon (tyro) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1255 W: 391 N: 4608] (18574)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH