Photos

Photographer's Note

Another photograph from the quaint and picturesque little village of Culross (pronounced "Coo-Ross") which lies on the north bank of the estuary of the Firth of Forth in the south of Fife. The tall building of the right is named "The Study".

The Study was built around 1610, perhaps, on account of its height and its five floors, being constructed originally as a sort of watchtower to look over the lower parts of the town (you can see the top of Culross Townhouse in the distance) and the harbour below it.

Also called "Bishop Leighton's Study", the building was occupied at some point by a Bishop Leighton in the late 17th Century though it was probably owned by John Adam, a wealthy merchant in the town, before that time as original internal wood panelling bears Adam's initials with the date 1633.

As with Culross Palace and Townhouse, this building has been restored and is looked after under the auspices of the National Trust for Scotland.

Photo Information
Viewed: 1231
Points: 48
Discussions
Additional Photos by John Cannon (tyro) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1268 W: 393 N: 4697] (18904)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH